General Information of Malaysia
About Malaysia
Malaysia is federation which consists of West Malaysia and East Malaysia, separated by the South China Sea. A bubbling, bustling melting pot of races and religions where Malays, Chinese , Indians and many other ethnic groups live together in peace and harmony. The capital city is Kuala Lumpur, while Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government.

Geographical Location
Malaysia is the 66th largest country by total land area, with a land area of 330,803 square kilometres. Situated between 2° and 7° to the North of the Equator line, Peninsular Malaysia is separated from Sabah and Sarawak by the South China Sea. In the northern part of Peninsular Malaysia lies Thailand, and in the south, neighbouring Singapore. Sabah and Sarawak are bounded by Indonesia while Sarawak also shares borders with Brunei.

The population of Malaysia was over 30 million, making it the 44th most populated country. The population of Malaysia consists of many ethnic groups. Malays comprise 57% of the population, while the Chinese, Indian, Indigenous and other races make up the rest of the country's population.

Bahasa Malaysia is the national and official language in use, but English is widely spoken by many Malaysians as well. Being a multiracial society, the ethnic groups also communicate in other languages such as Cantonese, Mandarin, Tamil as well as various ethnic dialects.

Malaysia has a multi-ethnic, multicultural, and multilingual society. The largest ethnic groups in Malaysia are the Malays, Chinese and Indians. In Sabah and Sarawak, there are a myriad of indigenous ethnic groups with their own unique culture and heritage. All these cultures have influenced each other, creating a truly Malaysian culture.

Malaysia weather benefits from a tropical climate with high temperatures and high humidity throughout the year. Daytime temperatures rise above 30°C (86°F) year-round and night-time temperatures rarely drop below 20°C (68°F). Annual rainfall varies from 2000mm to 2500mm.

Economic Profile
Manufacturing constitutes the largest single component of Malaysia's economy. Tourism and primary commodities such as petroleum, palm oil, natural rubber and timber are other major contributors to the economy.

The unit of currency is Malaysian Ringgit indicated as RM. Notes are in denominations of RM100, 50, 20, 10, 5 and 1. Coins are in denominations of 50, 20, 10 and 5 sen. The import and export of local currency is limited to RM1,000 cash. There are no restrictions on the import and export of foreign currency, subject to declarations for amounts of US$10,000 or higher. Foreign currency can be converted at banks, money changers and hotels.

Business Hours

Shops are generally open between the hours of 10:00 - 22:00. Banking hours are between the hours of 09:30 - 16:00. Government offices are closed on Saturdays and Sundays.

The information is correct at the time of print and the Committee reserves the right to make any amendment without prior notice.

Important Dates
  • 31 Jan 2022
    Submission of abstracts
  • 28 Feb 2022
    Acceptance of abstracts
  • 31 March 2022
    Submission of papers
  • 30 April 2022
    Acceptance of papers